South and West Yorkshire 2016 CFR Awards Evening

South and West Yorkshire 2016 CFR Awards

Community First Responders and their guests from across South and West Yorkshire gathered at the Tankersley Manor Hotel in Barnsley on Friday 22 April to celebrate the amazing work of Yorkshire Ambulance Service’s volunteers.

250 guests were present to enjoy a hot buffet, entertainment and disco as well as the formal awards presentation. The whole evening is Yorkshire Ambulance Service’s way of saying thank you to these volunteers who give up their own time to respond to patients in need in their communities.

The YAS Chief Executive Rod Barnes and Chairperson Della Cannings QPM were both present to express their thanks and Rod Barnes gave a speech about the vital and integral role volunteers play in the organisation.

On the night the recipients of the awards were as follows;

Area Scheme of the Year - Presented by Rod Barnes Responder of the Year - Presented by Jackie Cole and John McSorley Commitment to Volunteering - Presented by Della Cannings QPM
South Darton & Kexborough

Helen Greer-Waring

(Kiveton scheme)

(Edwin Burland Award) - Penistone scheme
ABL Garforth

Amanda Peacock

(Pudsey scheme)

(James Lee Award) - Mark Calvert-Willey (Guiseley scheme)
CKW Outwood

Jez Fisher

(Greetland scheme)

Lynne Speight

(Cleckheaton scheme)

 £330 was also raised through a raffle and tombola for Start a Heart 247, a Rotherham based charity who promote and help fund Community Public Access Defibrillators across Yorkshire and beyond.

If my community needs me I want to be there!