Community First Responders

The Community First Responder (CFR) scheme is a life-saving partnership between Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust (YAS) and local communities.

As authorised volunteers for YAS, Community First Responders form teams located in communities across Yorkshire as part of a wider initiative which aims to help reduce the number of pre-hospital deaths in Yorkshire.

New recruits will join hundreds of volunteers living in local communities across the region who are trained to provide life-saving treatment to residents in their area in the vital first minutes of an emergency until our ambulance clinicians arrive.

YAS is committed to providing the high quality services to and care to all those living in, or passing through, Yorkshire and this initiative undoubtedly helps to achieve this.

Investing in Volunteers - Proud to be accredited

We achieved the UK quality standard for good practice in supporting volunteers. For further information visit:

Please Note: Due to the current situation and taking the advice from government and management within Yorkshire Ambulance Service, we are starting to open up recruitment in the following areas only:

East Yorkshire

  • Anlaby
  • Beeford
  • Beverley
  • Bewholme
  • Bilton
  • Bridlington
  • Burstwick
  • Cottingham
  • Driffield
  • Easington
  • Hedon
  • Hornsea
  • Hutton Cranswick
  • Keyingham
  • Kingswood
  • Leven
  • Market Weighton
  • Middleton on the Wolds
  • Roos
  • Seaton
  • Sledmere
  • Withernsea

North Yorkshire

  • Bentham
  • Boroughbridge
  • Buckden
  • Burton in Lonsdale
  • Clapham
  • Craven
  • Giggleswick
  • Grassington
  • Hellifield
  • Kettlewell
  • Long Preston
  • Settle
  • Skipton
  • Sutton-in-Craven

South Yorkshire

  • Barnsley
  • Doncaster
  • Rotherham
  • Sheffield

West Yorkshire

  • Armley
  • Baildon
  • Barkerend
  • Bingley
  • Bradford North
  • Bradford South
  • Burley in Wharfedale
  • Colton
  • Cookridge
  • Crossgates
  • Garforth
  • Guiseley
  • Haworth
  • Horsforth
  • Ilkley
  • Keighley
  • Kippax
  • Kirkstall
  • Leeds (excluding Leeds Central)
  • Lower Baildon
  • Micklefield
  • Moortown
  • Morley
  • Oakwood
  • Otley
  • Oxenhope
  • Pudsey
  • Robin Hood
  • Rothwell
  • Sherburn in Elmet
  • Silsden
  • South Micklefield
  • Swillington
  • Thorner
  • Wrose

This will be reviewed on a regular basis inline with government guidelines.

Thank you for your understanding.

The Community Resilience Team


  • Carousel1
  • Carousel1
  • Carousel1
  • Carousel1

Do you have an AED you wish to register? If so please click here.

If my community needs me I want to be there!